From the Life of John Newton

This sign hung above the place where John Newton (Amazing Grace) studied…

“Since you were precious in My sight, you have been honored (Is 43:4)…You shall remember that you were a slave in the land of Egypt, and the LORD your God redeemed you (Duet. 15:15)

Here is what Newton writes about it:

“The texts over the fireplace are looking me in the face while I write.  A thousand thoughts crowd upon me.  What I have seen, what I have known of the Lord’s goodness and of my own evil heart, what sorrows, and what comforts in this house!  All is now past; the remembrance only remains, as of a dream when we awake.  Ere long we shall have done with changes.”

John Newton seemed to always have in the front of his mind the depth of the gracious mercy God had granted him while also constantly calling to mind his own unworthiness and sinfulness.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

