People who deal with shame

Click Here for an interesting article on people who deal with shame.  I am listing a few of the authors takeaways below:

  • I want to combat shame by pointing people to the love of Christ, but just as importantly I want to embody that love. My actions and attitudes communicate. Jesus’ words were important but his actions were too.
  • I don’t want to be so eager to identify sin in others that I miss the more immediate need of compassion and love. Locating sin and speculating about poor motives really is a lot easier than being patient, kind, and compassionate. I want to give others what they need in the moment, not what is easy for me.
  • I don’t want the people in my life to feel like an interruption. May God have mercy on me, because I think sometimes they do.
  • I don’t want people with problems to think I’m running from them, but sometimes in my fear I do.
  • I can be honest about my limitations of time and wisdom without letting them think they are too needy to be helped or cared for. To do that I need to confess my own pride and self-reliance.

If you want to know how to love the shamed more wisely, the first step is to look around for those “sneaking up on you” just hoping to steal a touch and give it to them. Notice them. Make time for them. Invite them to give voice to their suffering. Embody and point them to the love of Christ.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to People who deal with shame

  1. jeannie says:

    thank you for the reminder, though I am probably more often the needy one than the one who can point someone in the right direction

Leave a Reply

