Keep this in mind as you read the Bible this year…

Here is some wisdom from Charles Simeon as you begin a new year of reading scripture.

“I have long pursued the study of scripture with a desire to be impartial.  In the beginning of my inquiries I said to myself ‘I am a fool, of that I am quite certain.  One thing I know assuredly is that in religion, of myself, I know nothing.  I do not therefore sit down to the perusal of scripture in order to impose a sense on the inspired writers but rather to receive one as they give it to me.  I pretend I claim not to teach them, I wish like a child to be taught by them.”

“My endeavour is to bring out of scripture what is there, and not to thrust in what I think might be there.  I have a great jealousy on this head, never to speak more or less than I believe to be the mind of the spirit in the passage I am expounding.”

Charles Simeon 1759-1836

We enjoy so much listening to someone speak who agrees with our point of view.   In the case of scripture we sometimes add our own presuppositions into the text we are reading, so that it will tidily fit within our system.   Let’s make it our goal to be taught by scripture instead of imposing our own ideas upon it.  May the Holy Spirit incline our hearts to the word of God.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Keep this in mind as you read the Bible this year…

  1. Brian Shultz says:

    Wise advice that is so timely, thanks

Leave a Reply

